Nottingham  DIOCESAN BRANCH – Founded 1934

President: Miss Elisabeth Cooper
Vice-President: Mrs Glenise Ellis
Treasurer: Mrs Jean Jackson
Secretary/Liaison: Mrs Lorna Gordon

The Branch has seven sections – at Beeston, Carlton, East Leake, Lincoln, Newark, Sleaford and Stamford.  They cover the five counties of Leicestershire, Rutland, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire. There are 6 Direct members.

If you would like further information about CWL and where the Sections meet then please contact

The counties within the diocesan boundary vary considerably in character, ranging from the more densely populated Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire towns to the rural areas and huntin’ country of these counties; from the wind-swept and gull-haunted coasts of Lincolnshire to the sheep- haunted and wildly dramatic Peak District. (You want haunting? We’ve got it!) We must make mention also of the many historic market towns, ancient churches, cathedrals and the stately homes.

Lincoln CWL Section enjoy an August Blessing
 Lincoln Section enjoyed a shared table at Odette Millar’s home on 20th August. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and everyone brought their signature dishes. The fare was not for dieters! Following lunch, the newest priest in the Diocese, Fr. Simon Gillespie, found time in his busy schedule, to bless a beautiful statute of Our Lady which Odette has installed in the garden. Hymns sung and prayers said, members organised the usual raffle and the sale of various handmade cards and jewellery which all raised £40. It was decided to donate this to the local homeless charity, The Nomad Trust.

78th A.G.M. of the Catholic Women’s League Nottingham Diocese
Saturday 16th June CWL Lincoln Section, together with members from Beeston, Carlton, East Leake, Newark and Stamford, Regional Representative Mary Kilcoyne and Shrewsbury’s new President Hilary Wright, met together at Our Lady’s Convent School, Loughborough, for the Annual General Meeting. Monsignor Tom McGovern (representing Bishop Malcolm) concelebrated Holy Mass with newly ordained Fr. Simon Gillespie. Deacon Peter Brogan also officiated.

Fr. Simon enlightened the congregation with his very human take on the gospel. It was very fitting that the mass of the day celebrated The Immaculate Heart of Mary. The Catholic Women’s League draws her inspiration from Our Lady for the work done within their Parishes and communities as they tackle their tasks, be they small things or larger projects, with open hearts and minds, ever willing to do the work of the Lord.

After Mass the assembled gathered together to share a meal where Branch President, Odette Millar, presented Monsignor Tom McGovern with a cheque for £1350 towards Bishop Malcolm McMahon’s Future Priests’ Fund.

Odette presenting the cheque to Mgr McGovern

If Fr. Simon is an example of one who was helped in his studies by this fund, surely, you will agree it is money well spent!

Odette Millar

Branch President